Aside

Small Cast, Big Opportunity: The Experience of an Ensemble Member in She Loves Me

We recently chatted with Emily Yancey, who is performing in the Shopper Trio and ensemble of the May 2014 production of She Loves Me. Emily has been involved in theatre ever since middle school, has appeared in lead roles  in several Opera-lytes productions, and recently appeared as “Laurey” in Oklahoma! with the Lancaster Opera House.

What is fun and exciting about performing in a show?

I always enjoy rehearsals because it is provides me with the challenge of learning new material while determining how best to use my instrument to express the material. It’s fresh and exciting. The actual performances themselves produce a blend of nervous excitement and pride as I get to showcase the hard work I’ve put into a role.

 What is it like preparing for “She Loves Me”, compared to other shows you have done?

The characters in “She Loves Me” are delightfully comical and a pleasure to portray. I get a personal satisfaction from satirizing the materialistic, desperate house-wife personality–it’s one I feel deserves a good mocking.

 What is unique about doing this for Operalytes?

The ensemble for this show is very small. I’m not used to small ensemble shows, and it is definitely a different experience. You end up putting that much more energy into your scenes since there are so few of them.

 How and when did you get involved in Opera-lytes?

I initially found Opera-Lytes through an ArtVoice audition ad for their Opera & Broadway concert a couple years back. I find them a delightful, diverse, and accepting group of people whom I am always happy to work with.

 What is challenging about the role, and how have you prepared for it?

This particular role is challenging in that it is less about beauty of sound and more about personality and color. In that way, I have to produce the character through my voice, which requires more focus and attention than if I were just singing as Emily. I’m learning how to color my voice in comical ways, while still retaining a beautiful sound in areas that it is expected and/or required. This is toning my mental and vocal flexibility and adaptation for character.

 Do you have any promises for the audience? What should they expect?

Though it may not seem it, the music for this show is wonderfully complex. They should expect clear, well-developed characters with an anything-but-simple score to support it. You should also be prepared to laugh.

 Is there anything else you would like to share?

Just wait for the café scene! 😉


 

She Loves Me opens May 15, 2014 and runs till May 18, at the Alleyway Theatre in Buffalo, NY. Visit www.operalytes.com for tickets!

 

Leave a comment